Internationale Union für Leonberger Hunde

Constitution English Satzung Deutsch

Minutes 2017 English
Protokoll 2017 DeutschMinutes 2016 EnglishProtokoll 2016
Minutes 2015 EnglishProtokoll 2015 DeutschMinutes 2014 English
Protokoll 2014 DeutschMinutes 2013 EnglishProtokoll 2013 DeutschMinutes 2012 English
Protokoll 2012 DeutschMinutes 2011 English
Protokoll 2011 DeutschMinutes 2010 English
Protokoll 2010 DeutschMinutes 2009 EnglishProtokoll 2009 Deutsch
Protokoll 2008 Deutsch Minutes AGM 2008 English Protokoll 2007 DeutschMinutes AGM 2007 English
Minutes AGM 2006 Français
Minutes AGM 2006 English
Protokoll 2006 Deutsch
Minutes AGM 2005 English
Protokoll  2005 Deutsch
Minutes committee 2005
Minutes AGM 2004 English
Protokoll 2004 Deutsch
Minutes AGM 2003 English
Protokoll 2003 Deutsch
Minutes AGM 2002 English
Protokoll 2002 Deutsch
Minutes AGM 2001 English
Minutes AGM 2000 English

GPS coordinates Club House (in degrees) : N 48° 46' 56", E 8° 59' 32"
Google maps: click here

The committee:
President Willi Güllix (Germany) email:
Vice president Per Kristian Andersen (Norway) email
Treasurer Thomas Walker (Austria), email     Click for payment  info
Secretary Hein Sibrijns (Netherlands) email
Assessor for DCLH Wolfgang Mayer email

The ILU Health Committee:
Daniela Lutz, Wilma Kroon.Jane Wall, Paola Maggi and Nathalie Mayer. 

Snail mail contact of the Union:

International Leonberger Union
President Willi Güllix
Hochbendweg 127, 47804 Krefeld, Germany

Hein Sibrijns (Netherlands), e-mail

Honorary president Gerhard Zerle (Germany) 




As things went very well for the Leonberger after WW II and Leos again were finding fanciers of the breed in other countries,  the breed was recognized by FCI in 1955 and clubs  were founded  outside Germany (France in 1963, Holland in 1966 and Switzerland in 1969).Communications between these diverse clubs was almost always quite good.
The population of the breed was not very large, so in 1974 Holland and Switzerland proposed formation of a European Union of Leonberger Clubs and therefore allow the Clubs to join forces. In 1975 the Union was founded under the name "European Union fur Leonberger Hunde". Delegations from the clubs in Holland, Switzerland, and Germany, as well as Leolovers from Austria, Denmark, France and Italy were present.
France joined the Union some time later, since the official French club did not want to join the Union and a dissident club did want to join, but was not accepted. Luckily
after some time the two french clubs eventualy came together and France became a full member of the Union.
Every year a meeting of representatives from the Union member countries and a club show are held during the last weekend in September.
In 1978 clubs were founded in Denmark, Belgium and Austria that joined the Union.
In 1982 Sweden followed, in 1987 Italy. In 1988 Czech Republic, Fiuland,  Slovak Republic  and the United Kingdom became members, followed by Norway in 1990, Spain in 1995, Hungary in 1998 and Russia in 1999. New Zealand joined the Union in 2003.
The Leonberger Club of Canada joined in 2007, the Leonberger Club of Ireland joined with observer status in 2007 and got full membership in 2011. Estonia joined the Union in 2013.
There are currently 20 member nations from Europe, Asia and North America. A real sense of partnership and excellent communications is maintained throughout the Union membership.
Willi Güllix is now President of the Union.